ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Progress


Hope's Heroes

Carol Larsen HH Story 2018

Donate to Hope's Heroes

The Hero Award

Michael R Myer Gala button

Michael R Myer Golf Classic button

Michael R Myer Gala button

Michael R Myer Golf Classic button

The Hero Award is the highest award given by The ALS Association. It was established to recognize and pay tribute to people living with or who have lived with ALS and who have made “an indelible impact on The ALS Association and the community-at-large.” Those honored with the award have inspired the ALS community as they have promoted awareness of Lou Gehrig’s disease and have sought to improve the lives of those with ALS. This year, the Hero Award goes to Iowa's very own, Troy Musser. Read more here!


Stories of Courage

Nick Scandone

Each person who is battling ALS is a study in courage. The family and friends of people with ALS also are among the most courageous people in the world. They help their loved ones face each day with hope. Each person who is battling ALS has a unique story to share that will inspire others not to give up and to live life to the fullest.

The ALS Association proudly presents Stories of Courage, a look inside the lives of people with ALS who strive to achieve a good quality of life and make a difference in the world. The individuals described in the following stories decided to dedicate their energies in the pursuit of interests that benefitted themselves and the entire ALS community. If you would like to recommend someone you know as a candidate for Stories of Courage, please contact your local ALS Association Chapter.