ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Progress

 

Webinars

Research Update

April 19 (Tuesday) at 1:00PM, PDT (4:00 PM EDT)
Using Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells to Identify New Treatments for ALS
Speaker: Ashkan  Javaherian Ph.D., iPierian, San Francisco, CA
Adult skin cells can be manipulated to generate induced pluripotent stem cells to produce motor neurons and astrocytes, cells at risk in ALS. The ALS Association has awarded a one-year grant to iPierian to support the identification of a “cellular phenotype,” which represents differences in motor neurons or astroglial cells derived from ALS patients, versus healthy controls. This phenotype would be the basis for drug screening to identify potential disease-modifying drug candidates for ALS.
For information about how to join this call, please visit The ALS Association's Research Update webinar page


Assistive Technology Educational Series

April 25 (Monday) at 11:00 AM, PDT (2:00 PM EDT)
Swallowing and Eating Issues Related to ALS
Special Guest Speaker: Merisa Palovcak, MS CCC-SLP/L, Speech-Language Pathologist
Good Shepherd Penn Partners, The Dan Aaron Parkinson's Rehabilitation Center
Penn Therapy & Fitness at Pennsylvania Hospital
Call-in toll-free number (US/Canada): 866-699-3239
Meeting Number: 822 807 303
Meeting Password: ATseries2011

https://alsa.webex.com/alsa/j.php?ED=147925682&UID=1155279662&PW=NOTY2MmQ2YTBk&RT=MiM0


Social Security Webinar

Work Incentive Seminar

Wednesday, April 27, 2011 starting at 3:00 pm EST

Thousands of Supplemental Security income (SSI) and social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) beneficiaries have learned how to stay in control of their benefits while enriching their lives through employment.  You can too.

WISE webinars provideyou and your family the opportunity to learn how to take advantage of Social Security Work Incentives, including Ticket to Work.

You can register by calling 866-968-7842/TDD 866-833-2967 or register online.